Outback, Asthma and Shock Top

Tonight, I went to Outback (Pinole,CA) with my partner. We hadn’t been there in quite a while so we thought, why not. We were sat a booth and began looking at the menu. Suddenly I am hearing this kid in the booth behind me coughing and coughing and coughing. I began getting a little worried because I did not want to get sick. Me, being the not so subtle person, but think I am, kept looking back. Yeah, I know, I know.

The family behind us eventually leaves (err, after they finished their dinner of course) and shortly after they leave our waitress comes over to us and says that she wanted to apologize for the child coughing but the family had just found out today that the little girl has asthma. So the cough I though was the child being sick was actually her having asthma. Yeah, I felt like crap for my actions. But wait, it get worse. No, not the child’s illness, but how I would end up feeling.

The family felt really bad for their child coughing and possibly disturbing our time that they not only apologized (through the waitress) but gave the waitress cash to pay for our drinks. Yes, they offered to pay for our drinks. So to say the lest, I felt like complete shit.

I learned a lot tonight and one being, stop being so judgmental over one quick look or sound. Secondly,…hm, not sure what the second is, but I’m sure it will come to light soon.

To the family that paid for our drinks, thank you very much. Also to the family, I apologize for behaving badly. I was acting on fear (the fear of getting sick). Although I am thanking you here, I hope I get the chance to thank you in person, for not only the drinks, but more importantly for making me realize what a complete ass I can be.

One thought on “Outback, Asthma and Shock Top

  1. Nikki, I think it’s great that you are able to learn from life situations. Don’t be too hard on yourself. We are all imperfect humans and doing the best we can. This day in age most people can’t afford to be sick. Some have health reasons that getting sick would only aggravate and others need to be able to attend work. Life is a school of experience and that experience is for helping us to spiritually evolve. So don’t feel like “shit.” Some people are so selfish and foolish they can’t learn from life and repeat the same mistakes over and over. These types would have looked at the free drinks as them getting over or pulling a fast one on the child’s parents. Much love and stay beautiful.

Leave a comment